internalaudit

Expert
Reactions
Lexus is probably just buying time until its solid state battery is commercially viable.

Even Honda (article on insideevs today) announced FCEV will be put in the back burner and BEV and HEV will become priorities today.

CRSKTN

Expert
Reactions
Lexus is probably just buying time until its solid state battery is commercially viable.

Even Honda (article on insideevs today) announced FCEV will be put in the back burner and BEV and HEV will become priorities today.

Is there a range of time frame for that, understanding it would just be an estimate and probably wrong? 5 years? 10?

As a layman, i'm naturally worried this is a bad strategy. "Oh we are just waiting on ______ technology" is a good way to stay waiting forever.

I will watch those prior explanatory videos again on SSBs, curious to hear thoughts from people here on what they've heard/read.

corradoMR2

Founding Member
Reactions
Exciting to see the ELECTRIC badge on what definitely looks like the UX! If the CH R electric is any indication on range, the rumor-mill has it at least at 200 miles/320km, not great but not bad! :)

internalaudit

Expert
Reactions
Is there a range of time frame for that, understanding it would just be an estimate and probably wrong? 5 years? 10?

As a layman, i'm naturally worried this is a bad strategy. "Oh we are just waiting on ______ technology" is a good way to stay waiting forever.

I will watch those prior explanatory videos again on SSBs, curious to hear thoughts from people here on what they've heard/read.

Tesla / Goodenough / Braga seem to have been working on SSB since 2017. Watch those videos I shared.
Braga expects commercialization in 2022

Makes sense. How can Tesla cram a 200 kWh battery in a Roadster if the battery technology won't be a game changer?

VAG expects SSB by 2025.

CT200h

Fan
Reactions