2023 Honda CR-V

Gecko

Administrator
Reactions
Honda has developed quite an affinity for long overhangs... not sure why. And I don't know why Honda can't seem to design a decent looking car.

Honda-CR-V-007.jpg

Honda-CR-V-008.jpg

Honda-CR-V-002.jpg

Levi

Expert
Reactions
someone needs to tell carmakers, FWD or RWD or even supercars, long front overhangs are ugly, always.

b.ba

Fan
Reactions
I always had a soft spot for Honda because they seemed to be better about overhangs (or at least from the vehicles I saw), so I'm slightly disappointed that the next generation looks like that. I am not sure why there is a shift to such a long overhang when this generation has such a short one.

Is a longer overhang safer or more crash worthy? I am not quite sure why a front overhang would be beneficial (especially as it would put more weight over the front axle? (I'm also not an engineer so I may just be clueless)

Motor

Expert
Reactions

This is a preview

Gecko

Administrator
Reactions
I always had a soft spot for Honda because they seemed to be better about overhangs (or at least from the vehicles I saw), so I'm slightly disappointed that the next generation looks like that. I am not sure why there is a shift to such a long overhang when this generation has such a short one.

Is a longer overhang safer or more crash worthy? I am not quite sure why a front overhang would be beneficial (especially as it would put more weight over the front axle? (I'm also not an engineer so I may just be clueless)

2022 Civic is just the same... not sure why.

01a00570-0330-11eb-befd-057f854755dc

Will1991

Reactions
Crash compliance perhaps? This way there is more space before the wheels and other hard mechanical componentes.

Or a cheaper way to make cars look bigger on old platforms...

Gecko

Administrator
Reactions
Toyota, Hyundai and many others seem able to pull off great crash scores without that terrible front overhang, so I'm not sure that's the excuse.

Will1991

Reactions