James

Founding Member
Reactions
So you can get an S4 for 349 HP and a V6 and go 0-60 in 4.4 or a IS 500 F Sport with 472HP and a V8 and go 0-60 in 4.5...yeah give me the V8 all day! Besides lack of AWD vs RWD I think this will go very well for Lexus. Up here in IL I can see people leaning with the Audi but Lexus should be happy with this!

GNS

Follower
Reactions
Ah thanks! That's why I love this site! Smarter people than me who can answer questions about things I have no knowledge on!

I wonder if there will be this F-Sport IS500 RWD with the V8, and another F-Sport IS500 AWD with a different powertrain (V35A-FTS). Lexus has done it before, with the IS300 RWD having a 2.0T and the IS300 AWD using the 2GR-FKS.

Faisal Sheikh

Admirer
Reactions
So you can get an S4 for 349 HP and a V6 and go 0-60 in 4.4 or a IS 500 F Sport with 472HP and a V8 and go 0-60 in 4.5...yeah give me the V8 all day! Besides lack of AWD vs RWD I think this will go very well for Lexus. Up here in IL I can see people leaning with the Audi but Lexus should be happy with this!

RCF hit 0-60 mph in 4.1 seconds in C&D test (officially 4.2 seconds as per Lexus) so I assume it is going to be the same for this IS500 F-Sport. It won't be slower in a straight line. I think it is just for marketing since RCF is more expensive because of other reasons (brakes, suspension. carbon, TVD etc,).

Levi

Expert
Reactions
The powertrain 2UR only was designed for RWD. That is why I was thinking it would be 3.5 Liter V6 TT since it opens up the door for AWD.

From what I understand the UR engine was designed for AWD too. 2UR is a longer stroked version of 1UR. 1UR and 2UR (hybrid) had AWD in the LS (XF40). The GS (S190) had AWD only in combination with 2GR engine. I guess no AWD not to internally compete with the bigger brother. Both these cars including the IS (XE20) were built on N Platform.