The Spirits Thread

mikeavelli

Reactions
This bottle was full when we arrived in Toronto and by the time the weekend ended, we drank up all of @LexusSalesPro's wonderful bottle of blue label. My father is more of a Johnnie Walker guy than myself but this was outstanding.

What are some of your favorite or recommended drinks.

Refreshments.jpeg

mmcartalk

Expert
Reactions
I myself am a teetotaler, avoiding alcohol. (and sometimes because of that I'm a designated driver). But, my late father, who drank a fair amount of of beer and occasionally hit the spirits, always felt that Jack Daniel's Tennessee Whiskey set the standard in that department. So, sometimes I'd buy him a bottle for Christmas.

22678-MLA20234377427_012015-C.jpg

CIF

Premium Member
Reactions
I only drink spirits on rare social occasions these days, but I tend to be mostly a vodka guy. Some of my favorites in no particular order:

vodka-wyborowa.jpg

31dover-belvedere_1-75l-shadow320x1000_1_1024x1024.jpeg

2487.jpg

finlandia_vodka.png

krew

Site Founder
Administrator
Reactions
Don't know how it happened, but I'm a rum guy -- Dark & Stormys (dark rum, ginger beer, lemon) is my go-to drink.

Have yet to manage drinking any spirits straight on, can't handle the burn.

Onelog

Follower
Reactions
I tend to dive into something when I get really interested in it (such as drinking), so I tend to find and like some random liquors that most either don't know about or don't bother with.
Whiskey:
I drink this the most, so I mostly stick to the more affordable stuff. Also living near the bourbon trail seems to be a great thing. My standard everyday drink is Bulleit bourbon. If I want nicer I grab some Woodford Reserve or Paddys Irish. If I want a nice blend for sipping, John L. Sullivan isn't easy to find but it's so good and cheap. I'm not much for scotch personally, but if you find Balvenie Caribbean Cask, you buy it and drink it on your birthday.
Rum: