Lexus - What should I buy?

Reactions
Hi, I'm Eric and I'm new to the forums here.

I'll cut straight to it. I've owned mostly Hondas, and my last one just died (2000 Accord with 250k miles). I've been thinking about buying a Lexus for some time now as they've been rated among the most reliable cars in the world, but besides reading excessively on wikipedia my knowledge is limited.

I'm interested in suggestions on what I should look to buy based on some criteria:

Must have:
5-8k budget
Manual Transmission
Not newer than 2010 (I don't care how old the car is, good condition is good condition)
Remote Locking
Stock (not really into modding)

Nice to have:
Full size sedan
25+ mpg
<100k miles

Here's the catch:
I'm a very reckless driver, and I need something that can handle me. I've never been in an accident, but if I'm honest, I'm probably the guy on the road driving faster and taking corners harder than everyone else, and I think that's the main reason I've destroyed my Hondas -- excessive wear and tear. So, I need something with some good acceleration, solid suspension, and a clutch that won't go out after 20k miles. Tires, brakes, and other regular maintenance I realize is the cost of doing business for how I drive, but I've had about $1.5k/yr in repairs on average over the last 10 years driving Hondas (which are supposed to be pretty damn reliable).

Anyway, any and all suggestions welcome. Let me know if there's more info I can provide.
Thanks,
Eric

Last edited:

Brooks2IS

Premium Member
Reactions
Hi Eric, welcome to the forums! If a manual transmission is a must, your best option will be a 2006+ IS250 6MT. The IS300 was also offered with a manual but finding one unmodded is quite a feat.

Reactions
Hi Eric, welcome to the forums! If a manual transmission is a must, your best option will be a 2006+ IS250 6MT. The IS300 was also offered with a manual but finding one unmodded is quite a feat.