KF review: Toyota 86

Joaquin Ruhi

Reactions
As I commented recently in another thread on this forum, after my attempted reinvention as a full-time automotive journalist, I'd been trying in vain for a couple of years to get a hold of local (South Florida) press fleet cars for driving impressions. Slowly, but surely, there were cracks in the wall. First, Mazda liked my pitch for a comparison test between my 2008 3rd-gen (NC1 in Mazda-speak) and its 2017 ND successor. Then, a couple of weeks after I posted that article ( http://kaizen-factor.com/nc-vs-nd-evolution-mazda-mx-5-miata/ ), one of the local Toyota PR folks reached out to me and said that she'd liked to "get me into their vehicles". Her intercession led to my being placed in the weekly vehicle rotation of the smaller of the two companies managing the automotive press fleets here in South Florida.

The first of the vehicles I borrowed for a week was a manual Toyota 86. Here's a link to my review:
http://kaizen-factor.com/toyota-86s-scion-fr-s/

Last edited:

mmcartalk

Expert
Reactions
Nice write-up. :)

You mentioned the greater usefulness of this hardtop car over smaller open-top roadsters like the Miata. FYI, the Miata also comes in a retractable-hardtop version (the newest one is called the RF), though it admittedly adds a lot of mechanical complexity and cuts down cargo space.

Joaquin Ruhi

Reactions
Nice write-up. :)

You mentioned the greater usefulness of this hardtop car over smaller open-top roadsters like the Miata. FYI, the Miata also comes in a retractable-hardtop version (the newest one is called the RF), though it admittedly adds a lot of mechanical complexity and cuts down cargo space.
Thanks!

I apologize for not being clearer that my comment on the greater usefulness of the 86 was based more on the extra foot of overall length and the extra versatility allowed by the folding "+2" rear seats and the larger trunk than the hardtop per se.