C-Channel vs. Fully-Boxed-Frame? The Debate Goes On.

mmcartalk

Expert
Reactions
One of the best and most well-written articles I've seen yet on the subject. I'm not totally convinced, myself, that a well-done C-Channel cannot compete, but this person puts forth some pretty good arguments for the box-frame.

http://www.exploringoverland.com/ove...utside-the-box

Thinking outside the box

Jonathan Hanson
August 26, 2015

For a short time after I got out of college, in the mid-1980s, I sold Toyotas for a living to pay off student debts (I was pretty sure I wouldn’t be doing so working as a freelance writer . . .). When talking to customers about Toyota trucks or the Land Cruiser, I always made sure to point out the fully boxed frame, and contrast it to the open C-channel frames then standard on American pickups. In those days you commonly saw Chevy and Ford trucks with the cab accent line offset from the bed line by an inch or more, due to frame flex that eventually settled in permanently. I’d take the customer on a demo drive, and put one front wheel up on a high curb to get a rear wheel off the ground, then show them the bed perfectly aligned with the cab. If they still had any doubts, I showed them a stack of articles I’d saved from the local newspaper, which covered the massive problems the Arizona Game and Fish Department had been having with their current issue half-ton Chevrolet trucks—cracked frames and broken motor mounts had reduced the serviceable numbers in the fleet by almost half.

At that time, the corporate line from Ford and Chevy was, “The frames are designed to flex(Italics mine) to maintain a comfortable ride and keep all tires on the ground as part of the suspension design.” Riiiiight.