727837.jpg

96804031990104.jpg

cdabb6c613dd092dd5d52570c229d28d.jpg

INFINITI-G20-3265_1.jpeg

93804031990119.jpg

infiniti_g20.jpg

1995_infiniti_g20_4_dr_std_sedan-pic-2721216525338725831-640x480.jpeg

^^^ Cloth velour seats

IN A NUTSHELL: A nicely-done compact sport-luxury sedan from some of Nissan/Infiniti's best days.

I have some experience (not a lot) with the First-Generation Infiniti G20, and, although I was driving a First-Generation 1990 Mazda Protege at the time, liked the G20 enough that I actually came close to buying one. What limited experience I had with the car, though, I think, was enough for at least a brief write-up.

The first version of the G20 was introduced in the American market for the 1991 model year...only a year after Infiniti itself, as a brand (Nissan's upmarket division) started selling here in 1990. When I first saw the G20, I thought (mistakenly) that it was a slightly-expanded, upmarket/premium version of Nissan's Sentra, somewhat similar to what Lexus was doing with the initial ES250/Camry relationship. Not so. In fact, the G20 was an upmarket version of the Nissan Primavera's platform.....a sedan that was not sold in the U.S. market. The "20" part , as with many vehicle-names, came from the well-known (by then) normally-aspirated 2.0L in-line four of 140 HP and 136 ft-lbs. of torque that was also used in the hot-selling Nissan Sentra SE-R....a car well-liked by both the auto press and public.