Does torn engine dust cover need to be replaced?

Reactions
A few weeks ago I accidentally turned down what I thought was a side street and it was really railroad tracks. It was late and I obviously don't see well. I had a hard time getting over those railroad tracks and I was sure I had done some damage. What I did was tear the dust cover that is directly below the hood and the engine. Since. Now, When I drive on the freeway at higher speeds, it flaps back and forth really loudly and I have to do something about it. I've been told that the purpose of the so called 'dust cover' is simply to keep rocks and other debris out of the engine. I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas and/or of any alternatives besides me having to buy a new one. I'd rather not have to purchase this thing. I'm wondering if it could be patched. I'm a retired teacher and money is an issue. The car is a Lexus RX350. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Teri

RAL

Reactions
Welcome @terilees
My wife is a retired teacher too! I empathize with you while I am thinking about all the times over the years when I've unwittingly damaged my car ... like the time I put the lawn mower in the car trunk to take for repair ... and ... wait for it ... forgot to push the garage door opener before backing out of the garage. Yep! ... I tore up the garage door, the lawn mower, and the car! Oh the pain!

Now as to your situation: Drawing on my own experience with maintaining cars; for years I tried to save money by avoiding what I thought was unnecessary general maintenance and/or repairs. And it took many frustrating expensive episodes to finally learn in the long run I always come out ahead in every regard by servicing my car as prescribed by the manufacturer at the brand dealer. And I found this to be especially true with our Lexus vehicles.